Angebote zu "Reading" (72 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

ISBN Moral Tribes Buch Taschenbuch 432 Seiten
20,88 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

"Surprising and remarkable...Toggling between big ideas, technical details, and his personal intellectual journey, Greene writes a thesis suitable to both airplane reading and PhD seminars."-The Boston GlobeOur brains were designed for tribal life, for getting along with a select group of others (Us) and for fighting off everyone else (Them). But modern times have forced the world's tribes into a shared space, resulting in epic clashes of values along with unprecedented opportunities. As the world shrinks, the moral lines that divide us become more salient and more puzzling. We fight over everything from tax codes to gay marriage to global warming, and we wonder where, if at all, we can find our common ground.A grand synthesis of neuroscience, psychology, and philosophy, Moral Tribes reveals the underlying causes of modern conflict and lights the way forward. Greene compares the human brain to a dual-mode camera, with point-and-shoot automatic settings ("portrait," "landscape") as well as a manual mode. Our point-and-shoot settings are our emotions-efficient, automated programs honed by evolution, culture, and personal experience. The brain's manual mode is its capacity for deliberate reasoning, which makes our thinking flexible. Point-and-shoot emotions make us social animals, turning Me into Us. But they also make us tribal animals, turning Us against Them. Our tribal emotions make us fight-sometimes with bombs, sometimes with words-often with life-and-death stakes.A major achievement from a rising star in a new scientific field, Moral Tribes will refashion your deepest beliefs about how moral thinking works and how it can work better.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The Pattern , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 512min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Has one programming error killed hundreds of people in airplane crashes? A handful of West Coast computer geeks know the answer. After reading The Pattern, you will too. Follow auto-pilot programmer Craig Walsh and his beautiful engineer girlfriend Stacey "Jack" Horner as they create, and then confront, a malicious computer virus that seems destined to destroy air travel as we know it.... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Aaron Landon. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/007798/bk_acx0_007798_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Chute Roll (myrockandrollbooks) , Hörbuch, Digi...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Welcome to Chute Roll, a fast-paced, fun-reading ebook for kids that is part of author Sigmund Brouwer's myrockandrollbooks collection. Chute Roll: Skydiving - one mistake, and you fall like a piano...until, SPLAT! You're a blob of jam. Jeff Nichols works at a local flight school - just to pay for his skydiving. Then he hears of a plan to put his biggest rival into a 'chute roll, which he knows no skydiver has ever survived. But trying to stop it might put Jeff in in the air from an airplane at 10,000 feet - without his parachute. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Glenn Hascall. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/016793/bk_acx0_016793_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh
23,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS! From a true master of YA nonfiction, author of the acclaimed The Family Romanov, discover the dark side of Charles Lindbergh in a riveting biography of one of America's most celebrated heroes, and most complicated, troubled men. First human to cross the Atlantic via airplane; one of the first American media sensations; Nazi sympathizer and anti-Semite; loner whose baby was kidnapped and murdered; champion of Eugenics, the science of improving a human population by controlled breeding; tireless environmentalist. Charles Lindbergh was all of the above and more. Here is a rich, multi-faceted, utterly spellbinding biography about an American hero who was also a deeply flawed man. In this time where values Lindbergh held, like white Nationalism and America First, are once again on the rise, THE RISE AND FALL OF CHARLES LINDBERGH is essential reading for teens and history fanatics alike.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh
16,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS! From a true master of YA nonfiction, author of the acclaimed The Family Romanov, discover the dark side of Charles Lindbergh in a riveting biography of one of America's most celebrated heroes, and most complicated, troubled men. First human to cross the Atlantic via airplane; one of the first American media sensations; Nazi sympathizer and anti-Semite; loner whose baby was kidnapped and murdered; champion of Eugenics, the science of improving a human population by controlled breeding; tireless environmentalist. Charles Lindbergh was all of the above and more. Here is a rich, multi-faceted, utterly spellbinding biography about an American hero who was also a deeply flawed man. In this time where values Lindbergh held, like white Nationalism and America First, are once again on the rise, THE RISE AND FALL OF CHARLES LINDBERGH is essential reading for teens and history fanatics alike.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh (eBook, ...
8,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS!From a true master of YA nonfiction, author of the acclaimed The Family Romanov, discover the dark side of Charles Lindbergh in a riveting biography of one of America's most celebrated heroes, and most complicated, troubled men. First human to cross the Atlantic via airplane; one of the first American media sensations; Nazi sympathizer and anti-Semite; loner whose baby was kidnapped and murdered; champion of Eugenics, the science of improving a human population by controlled breeding; tireless environmentalist. Charles Lindbergh was all of the above and more. Here is a rich, multi-faceted, utterly spellbinding biography about an American hero who was also a deeply flawed man. In this time where values Lindbergh held, like white Nationalism and America First, are once again on the rise, THE RISE AND FALL OF CHARLES LINDBERGH is essential reading for teens and history fanatics alike.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The Brotherhood of the Red Nile: America Rebuil...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

What would happen if a nuclear bomb was detonated near a cluster of oil refineries? From the president's airplane window, he sees oil refineries lie as white-hot glowing rubble in what was the Texas City of Texas City. Cracking towers lie toppled on pipelines above the ground now carrying radiation contaminated energy toward all parts of the United States. The fires are being fed by row after row of massive storage tanks. One of the tanks explodes, sending the massive roof thousands of feet into the air and then the one next to it explodes because of the heat from the one that just exploded. As the president watches, the next one blows like another domino falling. As the pilot veers to escape the heat from the blast, a third explosion sends a shock wave, hitting the plane. General Maxwell will save the plane from the bomb aftermath. But as he brings the president back to Washington, the millrems gauge reading threatens disaster that they all may... 1. Language: English. Narrator: Bill Keation. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/028971/bk_acx0_028971_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Flight or Fright , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 637min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

INCLUDES A CONVERSATION WITH STEPHEN KING AND BEV VINCENT!  Stephen King hates to fly. Now he and coeditor Bev Vincent would like to share this fear of flying with you. Welcome to Flight or Fright, an anthology about all the things that can go horribly wrong when you're suspended six miles in the air, hurtling through space at more than 500 mph and sealed up in a metal tube (like - gulp! - a coffin) with hundreds of strangers. All the ways your trip into the friendly skies can turn into a nightmare, including some we'll bet you've never thought of before...but now you will the next time you walk down the jetway and place your fate in the hands of a total stranger. Featuring brand-new stories by Joe Hill and Stephen King as well as 14 classic tales and one poem from the likes of Richard Matheson, Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, and Dan Simmons, Flight or Fright is, as King says, "ideal airplane reading, especially on stormy descents... Even if you are safe on the ground, you might want to buckle up nice and tight". Book a flight with this terrifying new anthology that will have you thinking twice about how you want to reach your final destination. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Norbert Leo Butz, Christian Coulson, Santino Fontana, Simon Jones, Graeme Malcolm, Elizabeth Marvel, David Morse, Corey Stoll, Stephen King, Bev Vincent. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/sans/008746/bk_sans_008746_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Dear Edward
13,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

'Astonishing' Marian Keyes A heart-wrenching, life-affirming novel about a 12-year-old boy who is the sole survivor of a deadly plane crash One summer morning, a flight takes off from New York to Los Angeles. There are 192 passengers aboard: among them a Wall Street millionaire; a young woman taking a pregnancy test in the airplane toilet; a soldier returning from Afghanistan; and two beleaguered parents moving across the country with their adolescent sons. When the plane suddenly crashes in a field in Colorado, the younger of these boys, 12-year-old Edward Adler, is the sole survivor. Dear Edward recounts the stories of the passengers aboard that flight as it hurtles toward its fateful end, and depicts Edward's life in the crash's aftermath as he tries to make sense of the loss of his family, the strangeness of his sudden fame, and the meaning of his survival. As Edward comes of age against the backdrop of sudden tragedy, he must confront one of life's most profound questions: how do we make the most of the time we are given? 'A rich, big-hearted tapestry. Fans of Room and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close will be spellbound by Dear Edward' Chloe Benjamin, author of The Immortalists 'A profoundly beautiful, page-turning story of mystery, loss, and wonder' Hannah Tinti, author of The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley and The Good Thief 'Dear Edward is a masterpiece that should be at the top of everyone's reading list.' J. Courtney Sullivan, bestselling author of Saints for All Occasions 'I loved Dear Edward so, so much. It made me laugh and weep. Magnificent!' Lily King, author of Euphoria

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 20.01.2020
Zum Angebot